Oklahoma Redistricting 2000

Oklahoma’s Political Lineup



State Senate37D, 11R30D, 18R
State House69D, 32R53D, 48R
US Senators1D, 1R2R
US Reps4D, 2R5R, 1D

  Redistricting Deadline

Both congressional and state legislative maps were passed on May 25, 2001.

Public Access

Legislative committees will hold public hearings before receiving the census data. Maps of the new state House districts are available for the  online, and the Senate has its own redistricting page.


Who’s in Charge of Redistricting?

The legislature is responsible for both plans. If the Oklahoma Legislature fails to redistrict its state legislative districts, statute requires the attorney general, state treasurer and superintendent of public instruction to form an apportionment board to complete the task. The governor has veto power over both plans.

Political Landscape

The 1991 redistricting plan was passed by a nearly unanimous vote in what was recognized as a bipartisan plan to protect congressional incumbents. Nevertheless, Democrats lost all four of their U.S. House seats by 1996, and all current congressional districts tilt either slightly or strongly to Republicans.  

The state will lose a congressional seat in 2001. Since Democrats won a seat in November 2000, they will likely seek to shore up their incumbent in 2001. The legislature remains strongly Democratic, but is more conservative than most federal Democrats. The governor is Republican.

  Irregularly Shaped District
District 2

·  Northeast; foothills of the Ozarks; poor and rural

· Traditionally Democratic, but now swing district which Republicans can win due in part to influence of Christian conservatives

· 77% white; 5% black; 17% Native American; 1% Hispanic

 Irregularly Shaped District
District 5

·  North Central—part of Oklahoma City

· The most Republican district in the state, although a plurality of voters are registered Democrats

· 87% white; 6% black; 2% Asian; 5% Native American; 3% Hispanic

  Contact Information

Lexa Shafer
Redistricting Staff
Oklahoma State Senate
Room 309 State Capitol
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
405/521-5599 Fax
[email protected]

Shirley Russell
Redistricting Coordinator
Oklahoma House of Representatives
2300 N. Lincoln
Room 109 State Capitol
Oklahoma City, OK 73105-4885
405/962-7617 ; 405/557-7351 Fax
[email protected]