North Dakota's Redistricting

North Dakota's Redistricting News

All information below is from early 2001

North Dakota�s Political Lineup







State Senate

27D, 26R

32R, 17D

State House

58R, 48D

69R, 29D

US Senators



US Reps




Redistricting Deadline

The end of the first legislative session after census for state legislative districts.

Who�s in Charge of Redistricting?

The legislature. In the past, the legislature has formed a bi-partisan interim committee after the 2001 regular session of the Legislative Assembly to work on state legislative districts. A special session is usually called in the fall to enact the plan. The governor has veto power over the legislature�s plan.

Districting Principles 



State Legis.







Political subdivisions



Communities of interest



Cores of prior districts



Protect incumbents



VRA � 5



  + = required               - = prohibited

Public Access

Well-publicized public hearings are a mainstay, but otherwise, no definite plans have been made to increase public access via the Internet. It is anticipated that proposed plans will be posted on the web for public viewing but no arrangements have been made toward this end. Citizens can only propose plans through their representatives.

Political Landscape

North Dakota continues to have a single, at-large U.S. House representative. 49 state legislative districts will be drawn, represented by one state senator and two state house members. Republicans will have monopoly control of redistricting after having to share redistricting authority in 1991.

Legal Issues

Native Americans challenged the North Dakota legislature's 1991 state legislative district plan on minority vote dilution grounds. The plaintiffs were unable to show that the Native American population in the targeted house district were compact enough to form a single district on their own, a requirement under Thornburg v. Gingles. The case was dismissed.

Legislation/Reform Efforts

Bills were introduced in the 2000 session that called for the use of single-member house districts instead of multi-seat district elections. None passed.

Irregularly Shaped District


Contact Information

 John Olsrud


 Legislative Council

 State Capitol

 Bismarck, ND 58505-0360


 701/328-3615 Fax

 [email protected]


 John Bjornson

 Legislative Council

 State Capitol

 Bismarck, ND 58505-0360


 701/328-3615 Fax

 [email protected]


For more information:

National Committee for an Effective Congress' Redistricting Resource: North Dakota

EMILY's List Congressional Redistricting Report: North Dakota


Redistricting Provisions 2000


      of page

Copyright � 2001 The Center for Voting and Democracy
6930 Carroll Ave. Suite 610    Takoma Park, MD  20912
(301) 270-4616 ____ [email protected]