State Background Info:
  Upcoming SoS Elections:

Iowa Election Administration
Chief Election Official(s): Secretary of State (View Website)
Election/Appointment Process: Partisan Election
  • Determines ballot eligibility of parties
  • Approves new voting systems/ devices
  • Advertises statewide ballot questions
  • Prepares election calendar
  • Canvasses election returns
Secondary Official(s): Voter Registration Committee
Election/Appointment Process: The chair of the committee is the secretary of state, two other members are the chairs of the two largest parties in the state, and the fourth person is a representative from the Iowa State Organization of Counties.
  • Prescribes voter registration forms
There are no statewide recounts. County recounts are conducted by a three member panel, one person is chosen by the "winner", another by the "loser", and the third person is mutually agreed upon by both.

Current Official(s): Michael Mauro
Public Office Experience: Polk County Auditor
Reelection/Reappointment Date: 2010
Primary Date: June 6th, 2006
Contact Information: Hon. Chester Culver
321 E. 12th St.
Des Moines, IA 50319
(515) 281-5204
Fax (515) 242-5952/5953
[email protected]


2006 Secretary of State candidates

Information on the state electoral situation

Information on election administration in your county