State Background Info:
  Upcoming SoS Elections:

Maryland Election Administration
Chief Election Official(s): State Board of Elections (View Website)
Election/Appointment Process: The State Board of Elections is made up of five members who serve four-year terms and represent both principal political parties — three of the majority and two of the minority party. The members are appointed by the Governor, with the advice and consent of the Senate of Maryland.
  • Prescribes voter registration forms
  • Approves new voting systems/ devices
  • Advertises statewide ballot questions
  • Prepares election calendar
  • Determines ballot eligibility of parties
  • Handles state recounts
Secondary Official(s): State Board of Canvassers (consists of Secretary of State, Attorney General, Comptroller, Clerk of Court of Appeals, and Treasurer).
Election/Appointment Process: The Attorney General, Comptroller, and Treasurer are all elected. The Secretary of State is appointed by the Governor. The secretary for State Board of Canvassers is the State Administrator appointed by the State Board of Elections.
  • Canvasses election returns
Current Official(s): Robert L. Walker (D-Chairman), Bobbie S. Mack (D-Vice Chairman), Andrew V. Jezic (D), David J. McManus, Jr. (R), Charles E. Thomann (R). Linda Lamone is the Administrator of the Board of Elections.
Reelection/Reappointment Date: 2005 for Burger; 2007 for Beck and Widerman. 2006 for the Attorney General and Comptroller. 2007 for the Treasurer.
Contact Information:
P.O. Box 6486
Annapolis, MD 21401-0486
Fax: 410-974-2019

151 West Street,
Suite 200
Annapolis, MD 21401
[email protected]

Information on the state electoral situation

Information on election administration in your county